Health check-up day

Today at work we had the annual Global Wellness Event. Between 11am and 1pm the company provides an opportunity for us all to ‘relax’ while enjoying a healthy lunch or a chair massage or various other health-related activities. There’s also stuff like brochures on how to become a (blood) donor, joining the (subsidised) cycling scheme, the subsidised health club membership and the possibility to have various check-ups. It’s a nice, fun initiative.

After my scheduled check-in with the company doctor, who encouraged me to continue to rest my foot rather than overexert which is what I have done, I limped over to the Wellness event – ha! I had a chair massage and had some statistics measured with surprisingly good results.

Blood pressure chart for adults

Blood pressure – my result 120/80

I never quite understand the whole high or low blood pressure thing, but I know mine is always good, except when I had heart failure some years ago, then it was high.

If you’re interested in reading more about blood pressure here’s a link.

Cholesterol – my result 4,56

I don’t know much about cholesterol either except that it is “a waxy, fat-like substance that’s found in all cells of the body”.

Your body needs some cholesterol to make hormones, vitamin D, and substances that help you digest foods. Your body makes all the cholesterol it needs. However, cholesterol also is found in some of the foods you eat.

I know that an ideal number should be 4,5, and as an ex-heart failure patient, I should do some more reading into it as I also know high cholesterol can affect your heart. Luckily my levels were ok, but it would still be good to know more. Here’s a link about cholesterol.

Glucose – my result 3,6

The nurse said “Go eat something” which made sense as it was 12:15 and I had not eaten yet and I was getting hungry – so my blood sugar was low.

Normal blood sugar ranges
For the majority of healthy individuals, normal blood sugar levels are as follows:
The normal blood glucose level in humans is about 4 mM (4 mmol/L or 72 mg/dL)
The body, when operating normally, restores the blood sugar level to a range of about 4.4 to 6.1 mmol/L (82 to 110 mg/dL) Shortly after eating the blood glucose level may rise temporarily up to 7.8 mmol/L (140 mg/dL)

More information about blood sugar levels here:

All in all, it was a pleasant enough way to spend a couple of hours.

Leave a Reply

