Sunday 2 December

The Plan:
Sunday (Detox Sunday)
On waking Hot water with slice of lemon
Mid-morning (10-11) Toasted Wheatgerm Soup (p54 Swanson)
Lunch (12-13) Kitchari (Glynnis Osher and Madhuri Phillips)
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Kitchari

The Reality:
On waking Nothing
I woke up even later today than yesterday and I felt great! I had such a relaxing, rejuvenating day. As soon as I woke up I started cooking for today and tomorrow.

Lunch (12-13) Toasted Wheatgerm Soup (p54 Swanson)
I’m not bowled over by the recipes I’ve made from Super Natural Cooking, but I am intrigued by the ingredients the author uses. As I’d read that wheat germ is very good for you, and it is one of the recommended supplements for Kapha, I had decided to try this wheat germ soup. The soup is okay; but I must say it screams ‘healthy!’ Good thing I made a huge pot that I can freeze for days I don’t feel like cooking.

Toasted Wheatgerm Soup
Toasted Wheatgerm Soup

Dinner (18:30-19:30) Kitchari (Atreya)
As the weather is getting colder, I am moving on from liquid Sundays to Kitchari Sundays as my detox. I used this recipe, and added spinach, beetroot, carrots and parsnips. It took AGES to cook all the veges and I wasn’t expecting it to be delicious as I know Kitchari can have varying degrees of succes and taste, so I was pleasantly surprised with the result. Again this is one of those dishes that screams healthy! so it’s all good. I made a huge pot of this as well.

Kitchari
Kitchari
Leave a Reply

