Tuesday 8 January 2013

Tuesday: The Plan
On waking Hot water with slice of lemon
Mid-morning (10-11) Stewed pears
Lunch (12-13) Brown rice salad (p 212 Jason Vale)
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Cauliflower with carrots and peas (p 146 Johari) and rice

Tuesday: The Reality
On waking Nothing
Mid-morning (10-11) Stewed pears
Lunch (12-13) Brown rice salad (p 212 Jason Vale)
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Cauliflower with carrots and peas (p 146 Johari) and rice

This recipe looked so good I decided to make it and adapt for Kapha dosha, which meant taking out the sweet and dairy (both Kapha increasing) I don’t know what I was thinking when I was cooking; but I mistakenly used 2 garlic cloves instead of half a clove! so… although the salad was delicious, I was completely paranoid at work as I knew people would ask what I had to eat because the garlic smell was so strong 🙂 Sure enough, someone told me she could smell garlic when she stepped out the lift on my floor – but that it smelt good.

The Johari recipe took ages to make, which I don’t think it should have, and it was very uninspiring, not something I would make again. All the vegetables are great for Kapha, but despite delicious spices and fenugreek seeds, it tasted bland. Also, because I purposely used less oil, the food got a little burned in the wok.

Today I installed a Mindfullness Bell on my work computer. I am so happy with it! Every hour it chimes and according to the practice we learned during the Thich Nhat Hanh retreat last year, each time you hear the bell, you stop what you’re doing and consciously breath in and out three times. Unfortunately there is no Mac version but here’s a link to the online site which you can use in the background whatever your OS. It was very relaxing to stop every hour and focus on my breathing. But I can see how on busy days it’ll be challenging – all the more reason to practice, therein lies the lesson.

Finally, I was supposed to go to RPM tonight, but I am so extremely tired that during the day my vision was blurry, which happens when I am dog tired. I really went to sleep way too late last night. So I decided to go home and go to bed at a decent time.

 

Leave a Reply

