Thursday 10 January 2013

The Plan: Thursday
On waking Hot water with slice of lemon
Mid-morning (10-11) Stewed apples
Lunch (12-13) Green Veggie Power Soup (p 219 Jason Vale)
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Couscous Salad with Roasted Vegetables and Chickpeas (Martha)

The Reality:
On waking No time for hot water with slice of lemon
Mid-morning (10-11) Stewed apples
Lunch (12-13) Leftover from last nights dinner
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Vegetarian Indonesian take-out

What a terrible nights sleep last night. I was cold, I was hot, I was asleep, I was awake, you name it. I even had a cup of hot milk before bed instead of my usual Yogi Night-time tea just in case it was the culprit of my disrupted sleep the last two weeks. The milk didn’t make any difference.

I was in bed at 11:30 pm in the end which was late but I did get a lot of stuff I wanted to do done. Nonetheless it’s too late! We also had dinner really late at 9pm which is a whole different issue. Late dinner is a bad thing, and we do it too often.

I decided to use an app I’ve had on my iPhone for years called SleepCycle. Based on its results the following:

In bed: 23:28 – 08:44 (an hour later than I am supposed to go to bed and get up). According to this app I only reached deep sleep between 7 and 8 this morning, which was the time I was supposed to get up! I’m not saying I trust this app blind – of course not, but I do know it indicates I was between being asleep and being awake all night, which is true, the last time I looked at the clock it was twenty to 3. I’m interested in getting an overview of my nocturnal habits – mostly what time I actually go to bed.

20130110-183925.jpg

Considering I was in bed for 9 and a quarter hours you’d think I’d be as fresh as a daisy today right?

It was back to the gym today for my first post Christmas workout with my personal trainer which I enjoyed. Hopefully I’ll sleep well tonight after my exercise session.

What are your do’s and don’t s for a good nights sleep? Or getting to sleep when you can’t?

2 thoughts on “Thursday 10 January 2013

  1. Poor you! There’s nothing worse than not getting enough proper sleep.
    Would it help to start unwinding about an hour before you’re supposed to go to bed? So no tv or iPhone, no planning and making lists for the day ahead and maybe some relaxing yoga exercises?
    Hope you had a good nights sleep,
    X Mandy

    Like

    1. I think you are right. I hardly ever watch TV and it’s kind of the plan to switch off technology before bed. I usually take a cup of night time tea up with me to relax with while reading. Often though I do end up updating the blog, checking what I got to do tomorrow etc. so I am going to make more of an effort to switch off completely! Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

