Monday 14 January

The Plan: Monday
On waking Hot water
Mid-morning (10-11) Pear
Lunch (12-13) Green Veggie Soup
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Cabbage with potatoes (p 145 Johari) and roti pancake

The Reality:
On waking Hot water
Mid-morning (10-11) Pear
Lunch (12-13) Green Veggie Soup
Snack: 2 rice cakes
Snack: 4 “Sultana” biscuits
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Cabbage with potatoes (p 145 Johari) and roti pancake

I was quite hungry today. It’s so interesting to see how your body reacts to food and what it tells you when you focus on it. I only had a smallish portion of the soup and so I wasn’t surprised when I got home that I was pretty hungry. The soup, good and thick as it was just wasn’t filling enough. It’s also very cold out so that probably made me hungry too.

I made another recipe from the Johari book for dinner, and again it was very underwhelming. I did use my rice cooker in which to steam the cabbage and vegetables and I think the taste of the steamed cabbage was better than straight-up boiling it. The ingredients were simple enough (yes, cabbage and potatoes) with a few spices sautéed in a wok. I used ghee instead of oil and the garlic burnt really quickly. Could it be I actually like more complicated recipes with more tastes? I don’t know I’m going to have to work that out. When my mum cooked cabbage and nuts it was divine and yet simple. I’ll make a third recipe as part of my course work and see if I can find anything in this book I like!

Green Power Veggie Soup

Leave a Reply

