Sunday 20 January

The Plan: Sunday (Detox Sunday)
On waking Hot water
Mid-morning (10-11) Beet and carrot juice
Lunch (12-13) Kitchari
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Winter root vegetable and barley pot

The Reality: On waking
Mid-morning (10-11) Ginger juice
Lunch (12-13) Kitchari
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Winter root vegetable and barley pot

I was feeling very lazy today. Spent all day catching up on DVR viewing (Dr. Oz show) and reading my ayurvedic literature. I toyed with going to the movies but it snowed all afternoon. Full disclosure the movie theatre is literally a one minute walk from my front door. But only work will make me leave my warm couch, blanket and cat on a day like today.

I really fancied this delicious smoothie I made for myself last week. I guess because of the heating ginger. The recipe includes a banana which due to its sweet and heavy nature is not recommended for a kapha imbalance unless eaten with a bit of ginger. I add more ginger than the recipe notes to counteract the banana and I leave the ice out. I might try and substitute the banana with tofu next time and see what that tastes like. Even TLB liked this, it’s delicious.

I was quite peckish in the afternoon. Had one biscuit and one sandwich.

Dinner was the delicious Winter root vegetable and barley pot I’d made some weeks ago. So good to have something healthy and delicious ready in the freezer on days like this.

Leave a Reply

