Monday 21 January

The Plan: Monday
On waking Hot water
Mid-morning (10-11) Beet and carrot juice
Lunch (12-13) Winter root vegetable and barley pot (Tesco)
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Chickpea Soup with Spinach (Appie)

The Reality: 
On waking Hot water
Mid-morning (10-11) Beet and carrot juice
Lunch (12-13) Winter root vegetable and barley pot
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Chickpea Soup with Spinach

I don’t know what happened with this beetroot juice I made but it was practically solid. I thought because it was so thick it would keep me going until lunch, but in fact it did not fill me. On a  cold cold day like today you definitely need more sustenance than liquid.

Sure enough come lunchtime, I was hungry and when I saw the canteen’s menu of pasta penne with salmon and rucola, I could not resist the urge to have a 1/2 cup portion. It was good, but I was bloated afterwards.

By the time I got home I was hungry again and did the worst thing: went shopping hungry. Let’s just say I managed to devour a half three quarter packet of organic cheese straws.

Dinner was made quickly and I had not made this dish for a long time and had forgotten how yummy it is.

Chickpea Soup with Spinach
Chickpea Soup with Spinach
Leave a Reply

