Wednesday 23 January

Sleep: I was in bed at 10.40 pm last night and lights out at 11:30. I still couldn’t wake up at 7:00 am.

The Plan: Wednesday
On waking Hot water
Mid-morning (10-11) Dr. Oz’s Quinoa with Prunes Recipe and Ginger Tea
Lunch (12-13) Gingered Aduki Beans (p 106) with Plain Indian Rice (p 129)
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Vegetable Barley Soup (p 188)

The Reality
On waking Hot water
Mid-morning (10-11) Dr. Oz’s Quinoa with Prunes Recipe and Ginger Tea
Lunch (12-13) Gingered Aduki Beans (p 106) with Plain Indian Rice (p 129)
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Vegetable Barley Soup (p 188)

In my defense, I honestly think I am so hungry because it’s freezing outside. I cannot wait for all this nastiness to thaw!

I thought the warm breakfast today would keep me going better, especially as I knew I’d be home late as it’s yoga night. But I actually forgot to make my breakfast last night so I ate a chocolate croissant instead! It is so tough to find healthy food in the canteen. I had a choice of yoghurt with muesli which is what I used to eat before and always regretted; or a chocolate croissant!

Come lunchtime I was hungry and oh boy, that beans recipe did not do it for me. Also because there was too little left. So I supplemented my lunch with a tiny portion of lasagne (non vegetarian) which was absolutely delicious.

In the afternoon I snacked on 3 small biscuits, damn the colleague that kept forcing me to have one 😉

The yoga class was great! We did ujjayi breath exercises.  It is also called “the ocean breath”. Ujjayi is a diaphragmatic breath, which first fills the lower belly, rises to the lower rib cage, and finally moves into the upper chest and throat. Inhalation and exhalation are both done through the nose. The “ocean sound” is created by moving the glottis as air passes in and out. As the throat passage is narrowed so, too, is the airway, the passage of air through which creates a “rushing” sound. The length and speed of the breath is controlled by the diaphragm. It is used for relaxation. When the teacher demonstrated it, it really did sound like the ocean – deep and strong; very cool. It sounded like the beginning of time.

After yoga we did the worst thing: went food shopping hungry. We ended up buying and eating a little bit of sushi, a small portion of crisps, and this prune and walnut thing that I like a lot. When we got home we had the Vegetable Barley Soup I’d made last night and it was really tasteless. I am not impressed with ANY of the recipes from this weeks recipe book, and now I know why I never cooked from it much before even though I refer to its food lists daily. So after dinner we were still dissatisfied and I had a bread and butter sandwich.

Leave a Reply

