Thursday 24 January

The Plan: Thursday
On waking Hot water with slice of lemon
Mid-morning (10-11) Stewed apples and Ginger Tea
Lunch (12-13) Vegetable Barley Soup (p 188)
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Spruitjesstamppot with gember and vegetarian sausages

The Reality: Thursday
On waking Hot water with slice of lemon
Mid-morning (10-11) Stewed apples
Lunch (12-13) Vegetable Barley Soup (p 188)
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Spruitjesstamppot with gember and vegetarian sausages

The vegetable soup was so bland it was pitiful. I will never make that again. The Brussel sprouts stamppot was different and good! The ginger was not overbearing and we ate it with vegetarian meat balls.

I had a leaving do at work today for a colleague and there were lots of delicious looking snack brought round. I was peckish and must admit when the chicken yakitori came round, I almost caved. I thought for a second ” I can eat it, who will know?” Then I thought about my Mindfulness Trainings and about the fact that of course I will know.

Normally, I might be reactive, and just take it anyway, but this time I really took a breath and made a conscious decision not to eat it. Same when the next non-vegetarian snack came round. I noticed though that it triggered my hunger and as soon as the vegetarian snacks came round I was so hungry I felt like gorging on them. I know I need to stay away from crisps, they are my one true weakness. Once I start I cannot stop – and I didn’t. It didn’t help that I was very tired today again. So tired in fact I cancelled my gym session.

Leave a Reply

