Thursday 14 February

The Plan: Thursday
On waking Hot water with slice of lemon
Mid-morning (10-11) Quinoa with apples and Ginger Tea
Lunch (12-13) Potatoes and onions with cumin (Tesco) and chapati
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Barley risotto with roasted carrots (Anand)

The Reality:
On waking Hot water with slice of lemon
Mid-morning (10-11) Quinoa with apples and Kapha Tea
Lunch (12-13) Canteen – focaccia with mozzarella and vegetables
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Leftover Thai from Tuesday

20130214-234149.jpg
Happy Valentines Day! Today’s quote is one of the best things I ever learnt at a Thich Nhat Hanh lecture.

I need to love myself a little more as I have been slacking and I can feel it in my body and mind. My energy is so low, my mind is cloudy, I feel bloated and slightly constipated (no room for shyness in Ayurveda as bowel movements are of elemental importance as a reflection of one’s health). A true sign of a Kapha imbalance is also water retention, which this week is exacerbated by TOM. Yesterday I wore my kitten heel suede boots to work as I’m slowly learning to walk in heels again after my accident. By 10 am they were so uncomfortable, I had to take them off and at home time I could not even zip them up again my legs were so swollen. Today same thing, I tried them on and couldn’t even get them half way past my leg.

I have been so overwhelmed and cold and tired I haven’t had the discipline to keep up with the cooking. This week I’ve hardly made a single thing on the meal-plan. Also I’ve snacked – because I haven’t been eating the right food, especially at lunch, so I’m hungry when I get in and eat biscuits and chips.

I haven’t worked out a single day and because I’m much more in tune now with the signs and symptoms, I can tell I’m increasing Kapha again rather than reducing. My excuse is the cold and that Kapha has to keep warm and avoid cold and damp. Boy do I live in the wrong part of the world. I did invest in a 70% pure wool jumper so its keeping me nice and warm, leaving me without the “It’s too cold excuse!”

So….time to get serious again. I have to focus on my food and daily routine again properly which with all the busyness going on will take some good planning that’s all.

3 thoughts on “Thursday 14 February

Leave a Reply

