Monday 4 March

The Plan
Monday
On waking Hot water
Mid-morning (10-11) Quinoa and Sweet Spice Oatmeal (p 63 Anand)
Lunch (12-13) Creamed Celeriac Salad (p 105) with dry amaranth crackers
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Roasted vegetables with potatoes

The Reality
On waking Hot water
Mid-morning (10-11) Quinoa and Sweet Spice Oatmeal (p 63 Anand)
Lunch (12-13) Creamed Celeriac Salad (p 105) with dry amaranth crackers
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Roasted vegetables with potatoes

Well I have been M.I.A. the last two weeks. I have been so incredibly busy with work being done in the house I rent out, and even though I built in a buffer, of course things went longer than they should. Next to that I had work, and I felt myself getting run down. Sure enough last week I went to bed feeling exhausted and knew I was coming down with something as everyone in my department at work has been ill. So I stayed off work a few days and thought I could do stuff, but in truth I was too worn out and had a bad cold.

I am acutely aware that on account of how busy I was I did not eat properly as I was getting home late every night after checking on the work being done. I literally have always felt in my body when I am not eating well. I get mouth ulcers and have even less energy than normal.

On to the food – I am loving celeriac! It’s a vegetable I discovered this winter and its so gnarly looking but has the most delicious fresh taste, just like celery in fact. This salad was great, although it was really too cold for a salad so sure enough I was pretty hungry by home time.

I’m back on track now. Or so I thought because sure enough, it turns out there is no phone line at the house because the builders cut the cables (!) so I am sorting this out now and was home late again tonight! TLB had not got my message asking him to cook, so the food was not ready. I was so exasperated I ended up having a grilled cheese sandwich and a handful of Pringles for dinner otherwise we’d have been having dinner at 10pm 😦

That’s how life goes… It gets in the way. You have to keep adjusting and making the best choices, which is really hard when your mind is running wild with all the stuff you have to do. Truth be told it’s been a struggle to think mindfully. I miss my social contacts the last couple of weeks too. So important!

Lets hope tomorrow will be a better day!

One thought on “Monday 4 March

Leave a Reply

