Tuesday 19 March

20130319-232900.jpg

Tuesday
On waking Hot water
Mid-morning (10-11) Stewed Apples and Pears and Kapha Tea
Lunch (12-13) Noodle soup
Dinner (20:15) Small portion of whole wheat pasta with store bought tomato and chili sauce.
Snack cheese biscuits, two sugar waffles!

Today was an okay day and then suddenly this evening I was craving sweetness like nobody’s business.

I stressed myself right out of doing any reading for my course as I felt overwhelmed and as I have done all my life, when I feel overwhelmed, I feel so sleepy and I become incapacitated. So instead of reading up, I did a homework assignment whIch was to make ghee to bring to class tomorrow.

This making ghee thing is very evocative for me as when I was a kid sometimes I’d wake up to the smell of my mum making ghee. It was the most delicious smell on earth. The butter is melted and cooked slowly until all the moisture evaporates and the milk solids separate and brown. You’re left with something that looks and smells like caramel.

It was very easy to make, and instead of using a muslin cloth like my mum, I used a tea strainer. Thank goodness we had one at home, because it was too late to go out and buy one! In class tomorrow we’re all going to compare our home-made ghees.

In case you’re wondering what ghee is, it’s clarified butter made from cow’s milk and it’s used in Indian cooking for frying. Clarified butter means that the butter has had its milk solids removed, making it clear. It has a high burning point which makes it’s good for frying. You can store it for ages out of the fridge (in winter) and in the fridge when the temperatures start to rise. It’s practically considered an elixir in Ayurveda because it’s so easily digestible and it burns off lactose and cholesterol, lubricates tissues and increase agni. Yes, it has a high fat content, but unlike butter and other fats is has many health benefits too.

Leave a Reply

