Monday 15 April

The Plan:
Monday
On waking Hot water with slice of lemon
Mid-morning (10-11) Stewed pears
Lunch (12-13) Jerusalem artichoke soup and leftover noodles dinner
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Risotto with turnip greens and rucola

The Reality:
Monday
On waking Hot water with slice of lemon
Mid-morning (10-11) Stewed pears
Lunch (12-13) Jerusalem artichoke soup and leftover noodles dinner
Dinner (18:30-19:30) Risotto with turnip greens and rucola

The day did not start off well as it was a rush and we were all cranky it seemed, me, TLB and the cat. Monday morning blues I suppose. I was not amused when I got to work (late) to then discover I’d left my breakfast on the counter at home. I knew I’d need something before lunch so I settled for a hard boiled egg and an amaranth cracker. I skipped the mayo which I usually add a little bit of, to give it some moisture and it was actually fine; it didn’t taste like cardboard. I told myself Kapha needs drying, this is drying.

Lunch was some soup I had in the freezer; now I know for sure… Jerusalem artichokes give me gas. Enough said about that! The noodles which we had very late last night also didn’t help and I felt very bloated, a feeling I had grown used to in my life until recently.

Once again, life got in the way of my ‘carefully laid’ plans, as TLB’s mum was admitted to hospital so we know this week will be ‘take it as it comes’. But I have said that no matter what… we are going to cook and eat well for ourselves, especially to ground us in this uncertain time.

After work I went to the hospital with my yoga bag and I found myself looking forward to my yoga class so much. Unfortunately, as I left the hospital, the tram pulled away in front of me and the next one didn’t come on time. I was very disappointed; yes I could have gone and ran to the class but I did not want to come in with a rushed vibe and disturb everyone and then have to change as well. I was kicking myself for missing the tram, and then I thought, you know, hopefully I made an old woman happy by visiting her. Yes, I missed my class which I’d already paid for, but whatever.

It did mean I had time to cook which otherwise TLB would have had to do. I love risotto and I bought turnip greens for the first time on Saturday. Yum! And anyone who knows me knows I am nuts about arugula. So this dinner was a success and kapha pacifying on account of the arugula and turnip greens being bitter, pungent and astringent, the three flavors that reduce Kapha.

Risotto with turnip greens and arugula
Risotto with turnip greens and arugula
2 thoughts on “Monday 15 April

  1. Sorry to hear about TLB’s mum, and the yoga class. I totally relate to prioritising family needs over yoga – very high practice!
    Love you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

